← National comparison

State profile · IA

Iowa

Reviewed policies, grades and school implementation dates. District examples cover 0 distinct districts; it is not a statewide implementation survey.

Filter & export this state →
Detailed device brief

Rules for use: affected grades and timing

Personal devices · statewide finding

Elementary
Instructional limits
Middle
Instructional limits
High
Instructional limits

Local policies must restrict devices during classroom instruction; districts may choose stronger restrictions.

Beginning in 2025–26.

Exceptions & source ↗

School devices, screen time and student AI

Statewide · Current

HF 2676 · Student instructional technology

Grades: K–5 limits; all-grade 1:1 adoption checklist · Requirement: Required

Caps K–5 digital instruction at 60 minutes daily, requires local policies and a checklist before adopting or renewing 1:1 programs.

Starts / rollout: DOE lists July 1, 2026 as the default effective date and provides 2026 implementation materials. The separate school-food provisions start in 2027.

Adoption, exceptions & funding evidence ↗

Learning & relevant rules for use

What changes by age?

Compare this state

Elementary

Computer science

Current · Students must receive instruction

Iowa requires standards-aligned computer science instruction in at least one grade from 1–6. The requirement does not specify instruction in every elementary grade.

Instruction requirement began July 1, 2023; local K–12 plan deadline was July 1, 2022.

Source & dates

Relevant rules for use

Personal devices: Instructional limits

Beginning in 2025–26.

Device scope, exceptions & source

Middle

Computer science

Current · Students must receive instruction

Iowa requires standards-aligned computer science instruction in seventh or eighth grade. Districts decide how to organize the instruction.

Instruction requirement began July 1, 2023.

Source & dates

Relevant rules for use

Personal devices: Instructional limits

Beginning in 2025–26.

Device scope, exceptions & source

High

Computer science

Current · Schools must offer a course

High schools must offer and teach at least one standards-aligned half-unit CS course. This finding establishes course availability, rather than a requirement that every student take it.

Offer-and-teach requirement began July 1, 2022.

Source & dates

Relevant rules for use

Personal devices: Instructional limits

Beginning in 2025–26.

Device scope, exceptions & source

Teacher capacity, funding & delivery

Computer science · Funding documented

CS teacher-endorsement and competitive PD grants are documented. The published PD application deadline is November 1, 2026; endorsement applications close May 1, 2027, or earlier if funds are spent. Award and eligibility are not guaranteed.

Teacher support: Grants support CS professional learning and endorsement coursework; check the current guidelines and eligible costs.

Delivery evidence: State grant program documented; district participation and classroom outcomes are not established.

Official source · reviewed Oct 3, 2026
Questions for a district curriculum meeting
  1. Which students receive instruction, in which grades and subjects, and for how much time?
  2. What sequence connects computing concepts, data, AI understanding and digital judgment?
  3. Who teaches it, and what training, preparation time and accessible materials do they receive?
  4. Which documented funding or services can support delivery, and what remains a local budget decision?
  5. What student work demonstrates understanding? Check who participates and who is missing.

These are Stewart Brown’s planning questions, not additional legal requirements.

Reviewed policy findings, district examples & history (5 records)

Restrictions

Current evidence indexed

2 actions in this collection

Governance

Evidence gap

No current statewide record indexed. Research remains open.

Learning

Current evidence indexed

3 actions in this collection

Current statewide policies

Iowa· State / DCCurrent

HF 782

Local policies must restrict devices during classroom instruction; districts may choose stronger restrictions.

Reviewed against official sources · Oct 3, 2026

Personal devices
Requirement
Required with local discretion
Grades
All K-12
Learning evidence
No student-learning claim
Adopted / approved
Apr 30, 2025
Legal start
Apr 30, 2025
School implementation
Beginning in 2025–26.
Iowa· State / DCCurrent

Computer science instruction in grades 1–6

Iowa requires standards-aligned computer science instruction in at least one grade from 1–6. The requirement does not specify instruction in every elementary grade.

Reviewed against official sources · Oct 3, 2026

Computer science
Requirement
Required
Grades
Elementary
Learning evidence
Student instruction required
School implementation
Instruction requirement began July 1, 2023; local K–12 plan deadline was July 1, 2022.
Iowa· State / DCCurrent

Computer science instruction in grades 7–8

Iowa requires standards-aligned computer science instruction in seventh or eighth grade. Districts decide how to organize the instruction.

Reviewed against official sources · Oct 3, 2026

Computer science
Requirement
Required
Grades
Middle
Learning evidence
Student instruction required
School implementation
Instruction requirement began July 1, 2023.
Iowa· State / DCCurrent

High-school computer science offer-and-teach requirement

High schools must offer and teach at least one standards-aligned half-unit CS course. This finding establishes course availability, rather than a requirement that every student take it.

Reviewed against official sources · Oct 3, 2026

Computer science
Requirement
Required
Grades
9-12
Learning evidence
Course offering required
School implementation
Offer-and-teach requirement began July 1, 2022.
Iowa· State / DCCurrent

HF 2676 · Student instructional technology

Caps K–5 digital instruction at 60 minutes daily, requires local policies and a checklist before adopting or renewing 1:1 programs.

Reviewed against official sources · Oct 4, 2026

Screen timeSchool-issued devices
Requirement
Required
Grades
K–5 limits; all-grade 1:1 adoption checklist
Learning evidence
No student-learning claim
Adopted / approved
May 20, 2026
Legal start
Jul 1, 2026
School implementation
DOE lists July 1, 2026 as the default effective date and provides 2026 implementation materials. The separate school-food provisions start in 2027.

Upcoming requirements

No records in this section have been published. This is an evidence gap in the collection, not a determination that no relevant action exists.

Proposals under consideration

No records in this section have been published. This is an evidence gap in the collection, not a determination that no relevant action exists.

Selected district examples

No records in this section have been published. This is an evidence gap in the collection, not a determination that no relevant action exists.

Historical records

No records in this section have been published. This is an evidence gap in the collection, not a determination that no relevant action exists.

Evidence coverage & remaining research

Consistent 16-dimension checklist

Coverage & remaining research

Inventory reviewed October 3, 2026. 4/16 dimensions have published evidence of any status. Every dimension remains open to additional sources and superseding actions.

DimensionCurrent statewide evidenceOther published evidence
Personal devices1 linked action0 current district actions · 0 future, proposed, or historical
School-issued devices1 linked action0 current district actions · 0 future, proposed, or historical
Screen time1 linked action0 current district actions · 0 future, proposed, or historical
Student AINot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
Staff AINot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
AI governanceNot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
Social media / networkNot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
Privacy / cybersecurityNot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
AI literacyNot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
Computer science3 linked actions0 current district actions · 0 future, proposed, or historical
Digital literacyNot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
Media literacyNot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
Digital citizenshipNot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
Cybersecurity literacyNot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
Data literacyNot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion
Social-media literacyNot yet establishedResearch gap · no absence conclusion

Next checks: official state statutes and agency updates, grade-specific learning standards, superseding rules, and a broader district sample. Contribute a primary source.