Caps K–5 digital instruction at 60 minutes daily, requires local policies and a checklist before adopting or renewing 1:1 programs.
Starts / rollout: DOE lists July 1, 2026 as the default effective date and provides 2026 implementation materials. The separate school-food provisions start in 2027.
Iowa requires standards-aligned computer science instruction in at least one grade from 1–6. The requirement does not specify instruction in every elementary grade.
Instruction requirement began July 1, 2023; local K–12 plan deadline was July 1, 2022.
High schools must offer and teach at least one standards-aligned half-unit CS course. This finding establishes course availability, rather than a requirement that every student take it.
CS teacher-endorsement and competitive PD grants are documented. The published PD application deadline is November 1, 2026; endorsement applications close May 1, 2027, or earlier if funds are spent. Award and eligibility are not guaranteed.
Teacher support: Grants support CS professional learning and endorsement coursework; check the current guidelines and eligible costs.
Delivery evidence: State grant program documented; district participation and classroom outcomes are not established.
Iowa requires standards-aligned computer science instruction in at least one grade from 1–6. The requirement does not specify instruction in every elementary grade.
Reviewed against official sources · Oct 3, 2026
Computer science
Requirement
Required
Grades
Elementary
Learning evidence
Student instruction required
School implementation
Instruction requirement began July 1, 2023; local K–12 plan deadline was July 1, 2022.
High schools must offer and teach at least one standards-aligned half-unit CS course. This finding establishes course availability, rather than a requirement that every student take it.
No records in this section have been published. This is an evidence gap in the collection, not a determination that no relevant action exists.
Proposals under consideration
No records in this section have been published. This is an evidence gap in the collection, not a determination that no relevant action exists.
Selected district examples
No records in this section have been published. This is an evidence gap in the collection, not a determination that no relevant action exists.
Historical records
No records in this section have been published. This is an evidence gap in the collection, not a determination that no relevant action exists.
Evidence coverage & remaining research
Consistent 16-dimension checklist
Coverage & remaining research
Inventory reviewed October 3, 2026. 4/16 dimensions have published evidence of any status. Every dimension remains open to additional sources and superseding actions.
0 current district actions · 0 future, proposed, or historical
Digital literacy
Not yet established
Research gap · no absence conclusion
Media literacy
Not yet established
Research gap · no absence conclusion
Digital citizenship
Not yet established
Research gap · no absence conclusion
Cybersecurity literacy
Not yet established
Research gap · no absence conclusion
Data literacy
Not yet established
Research gap · no absence conclusion
Social-media literacy
Not yet established
Research gap · no absence conclusion
Next checks: official state statutes and agency updates, grade-specific learning standards, superseding rules, and a broader district sample. Contribute a primary source.